The Importance of Engagement Photos

Wedding photography is my specialty, and I have to say that I really enjoy photographing couples no matter what setting we are in. I love capturing their interactions and unique expressions of love for one another. With how busy and hectic a wedding day can be, when a couple doesn’t know their photographer very well (or at all) it’s not always easy or possible to capture natural, comfortable, pure expressions from couples. So, I always include engagement sessions in my packages. Engagement sessions are a great way for couples to get to know me and feel comfortable with me before their big day. I’ve learned over the past 4 years that this is SO important! At these sessions, I ask the couple questions to get to know them better, I have them interact with each other and have fun, and be goofy if they want to be. It’s like we’re hanging out as friends and I just happen to snap a few photos of them from time to time. 🙂 In doing so I am able to better understand how to get natural expressions out of them. I suggest to couples that we do the engagement session in a place that has special meaning, or incorporate some sort of theme (maybe something they like to do together). I do engagement sessions in any season and in any weather conditions (I’ve had several sessions in rain actually, and they turn out wonderfully). I am hoping for some winter engagement sessions in the snow this year!

BB_0191.jpg
SK_0047.jpg
TW_0142.jpg

BekBenn_0461.jpg

SK_0952.jpg

IMG_052415_0355.jpg
H91A6695.jpg

SK_0537.jpg
IMG_052415_0211.jpg

Leave a Reply

