Happy New Year!

Greetings! The past 6 months have been incredibly busy and I was hoping to get around to blogging, but it just never happened. One of my resolutions this year is to blog every week, sharing my work and experiences with all of you. Writing is something I love, but I admit that I am incredibly hard on myself and picky about the way I write. So, I have decided that this doesn’t need to be perfect but it does need to represent who I am. So from now on, I’m not going to worry about it…I’m just going to relax, be myself and write!

In this post, I would like to share with you my three favorite images from 2016 and a brief description about why I love them. And let me tell you, narrowing it down to only three images is tough! Perhaps I’ll save some for future blog posts. ūüôā But first, in a previous blog post I promised a video example from a wedding I assisted Tig Degner with in July…so here is Vicki and Xo’s beautiful ceremony at Trellis in Stillwater (shot by Tig Degner and myself, edited by Tig Degner of TigWD Photo and Cinematography).¬†CLICK HERE TO SEE VIDEO

(By the way, Tig and I did¬†a lot of wedding videography over the past six months and I will have more to share regarding videography in the future. It’s something that I’m loving more and more!)

Anyway, onto my favorite photos of the year!

PHOTO #1: SieraH91A2533.jpg

I did a two-part senior portrait session with this lovely young lady and it was a blast! So many amazing photos, but this is my favorite.¬†Siera¬†wasn’t afraid of a little rain during this session, in fact she embraced it! I admire her poise and confidence in front of the camera.¬†At the end of this session we were both drenched and a little muddy, but we still enjoyed a nice conversation over dinner at Olive Garden!

 

PHOTO #2: Nicole & DadH91A3490.jpg

I had the privilege of working at some pretty awesome venues last year. Minnetonka Orchards in Minnetrista is a photographer’s dream….beautifully alined rows of lush apple trees, a scenic pathway with a bridge over a creek, wide open grassy areas with rolling hills and trees in the background, and even a wooden swing hanging from a giant oak tree! Not to mention a friendly and extremely accommodating staff. I could tell that, besides her new husband, this bride’s best friend is her father. The connection between them was heart-warming and¬†brought a tear to my eye all day long…and as I edited their images. Such an incredibly sweet couple and family all around. The best part about this image? It is candid and I was in the right place at the right time. I love moments like this!

 

PHOTO #3: Papa Loren and Grandma Joyce with Izzy and EllieH91A1692bw.jpg

My favorite little girls with my favorite Mom and Dad (ok my only Mom and Dad, but still they are pretty awesome! ) This photo was taken in the backyard of the house where Mom and Dad lived in for 17 years and recently sold, deciding to move into a townhouse just a couple miles away. I never felt much of a connection to the house, being that I didn’t spend all that much time there since during those years I was away at college and then moved out on my own. But, I know this house has a special place in my parents’ hearts. It’s where their granddaughters came to visit as they grew, learned to talk, walk and climb stairs, and ¬†where they would play in the backyard (they loved to swing especially). Now that my nieces live in California, visiting with them is limited and my photographs¬†of them are¬†incredibly treasured.

 

So that’s all for today! Thank you for visiting my blog, keep watching for weekly posts and have a safe and joyous new year!

One thought on “Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

